ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System

What is ISO 22000 ?

ISO 22000 is a Food Safety Management System developed by the International Organization for Standardization that can be applied to any organization in the food chain, farm to fork. The aim of the ISO 22000 is to harmonize the requirements for food safety management on a global level.

Food safety is about the prevention, elimination and control of foodborne hazards, from the site of production to the point of consumption. Since food safety hazards may be introduced at any stage of the process, every company in the food supply chain must exercise adequate hazard controls. In fact, food safety can only be maintained through the combined efforts of all parties: governments, producers, retailers and end consumers.

Aimed at all organizations in the food and feed industries, regardless of size or sector, ISO 22000:2018, Food safety management systems – Requirements for any organization in the food chain, translates food safety management into a continuously improving process. It takes a precautionary approach to food safety by helping to identify, prevent and reduce foodborne hazards in the food and feed chains. This provides customer confidence in the product. This is becoming more and more important as customers demand safe food and food processors require that ingredients obtained from their suppliers to be safe.

The 2018 version of ISO 22000 was published on June 19 2018. With this release, ISO 22000:2005 will be withdrawn. Companies certified to the ISO 22000:2005 standard have to transition their certificate to ISO 22000:2018, and there is a 3-year transition period until June 29 2021 according to IAF resolution 2018-15.

The Main changes in ISO 22000:2018 

  • The high level structure: in order to make life easier for businesses using more than one management system standard, the new version of ISO 22000 will follow the same structure as all the other ISO management system standards,the High Level Structure (HLS).
  • The risk approach: the standard now includes a different approach to understanding risk, emphasizing
  • The PDCA cycle: the standard clarifies the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle, by having two separate cycles in the standard working together: one covering the management system and the other, covering the principles of HACCP.
  • The operation process: a clear description is given of the differences between key terms such as: Critical Control Points (CCPs), Operational Prerequisite Programmes (OPRPs) and Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs).

ADTAC Consultancy Services

ADTAC provide consultancy services for transition of ISO 22000:2005 to ISO 22000:2018 and ISO 22000:2018 from end to end, starting with compliance with plant facilities and design until complete certification audit. With our broad knowledge and experience, we will work together with our clients to achieve the required certification and guide on how to maintain their Food Safety Management System from time to time. 

Contact us now for more
details on our services